Share this page

Tell your friends all about St Martin’s

Connect with us

Café in the Crypt

Les Routiers Café of the Year 2012, the Café in the Crypt is the ideal spot for affordable dining in central London.

→ Read more

Great Sacred Music, January – March 2014

News St Martin – Talking Points

Tuesday 7 January 2014

Great Sacred Music is a thirty-minute sequence of reflections and music led by vicar of St Martin-in-the-Fields the Revd Dr Sam Wells, and performed by St Martin’s Voices.

Each week, the music and reflections will be centered on the following themes:

January

Thursday 9 January Visions of God: a sequence of Carols and readings for the season of Epiphany.

Thursday 16 January Deep River: a sequence of words and music marking Christ’s baptism in the River Jordan.

Thursday 23 January Road to Damascus: Music by Felix Mendelssohn to mark the conversion of St Paul.

Thursday 30 January To be a Light: a choral celebration of Candlemas.


February

Thursday 6 February Long to Reign Over Us: words and music from the Royal Parish Church to mark the 62nd anniversary of the Accession of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.

Thursday 13 February I am my Beloved’s and my Beloved is mine: a musical sequence for St Valentine. 

Thursday 20 February The Metaphysical Poets 1: John Donne. Including settings of the poems Bring us O Lord God and Death be not Proud.

Thursday 27 February The Metaphysical Poets 2: George Herbert. Including settings of the poems Let all the world in ev’ryu corner sing and Come my way, my truth, my life.


March

Thursday 6 March The Metaphysical Poets 3: Richard Crashaw. Including musical settings of poems Invitation to Music and Come love, Come Lord.

Thursday 13 March The Metaphysical Poets 4: Henry Vaughan. Including settings of the poems My soul, there is a country and The Evening Watch.

Thursday 20 March St Cuthbert of Lindisfarne: a sequence of words and music including work by the celebrated composer Will Todd.

Thursday 27 March Behold the Handmaid of the Lord: music to commemorate the Annunciation of the Blessed Virgin Mary.


 All take place at 1.00pm and are free to attend – no tickets required.