fbpx Skip to page content

Start of page content

Ildikó Szabó & István Lajkó play Beethoven

Friday 06 October 2023

1:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Beethoven composed for the cello throughout his life and in this concert we have Sonatas from the beginning and the end of his career. The Op.5 Sonata was intended to astound as well as to innovate. For the first time in the history of the cello repertoire, both the cello and piano were invested with equal importance. Then the fourth sonata very much belongs to Beethoven’s late period: posing questions to listeners as well as performers with every bar, transcending the limits of the instruments to sing and shout, contemplate and argue.


Beethoven – 7 Variations in E flat Major on “Bei Männern, welche Liebe fühlen” from Mozart’s Die Zauberflöte
Beethoven – Sonata No.2 in G minor Op.5 No.2
Beethoven – Sonata No.4 in C major Op.102 No.1


Ildikó Szabó Cello
István Lajkó Piano

Dates, Times & Book

Fri 06 Oct 1:00 PM £10 Book

Other things to do