Park Lane Group Young Artists


Bates – Toccata 3
Bernstein arr. Thomas – Overture from Candide
Joseph Kosma, /arr. Jonathan Bates — Autumn Leaves
Tenor Horn soloist: Jonathan Bates
Thomas Doss — Moskito
Kentaro Sato, arr. Jonathan Bates — Tsunangari
Christian Overhead — 5 Miniatures
Grainger arr. Bates – Molly on the Shore
John Hartmann, arr. Jonathan Bates — La Belle Américaine
Euphonium soloist: Christopher Robertson
Bruckner arr. Robertson – Locus iste
Jonathan Bates — From Mists of the Mountains A Tale of Two Peaks

A4 Brass Quartet
Jamie Smith Cornet
Jonathan Bates Tenor horn
Michael Cavanagh Baritone horn
Christopher Robertson Euphonium


A4 Brass Quartet are one of the UK’s leading young chamber ensembles. Based at the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester, A4 Brass is comprised of principal players from some of the UK’s leading brass bands, including the world famous Grimethorpe Colliery and Foden’s bands. The quartet has a unique blend of instruments, with a cornet, tenor horn, baritone and euphonium creating a distinctive sound that stands out from the standard brass quartet. The great technical capability and musical versatility of the quartet was recognised by the Royal Northern College of Music in the group’s first year together when the quartet won the Philip Jones Brass Ensemble of the Year Prize and after being invited to represent the Brass Department at the overall prize, went on to win the Christopher Rowland Ensemble of the Year Award, claiming both the judges’ and audience votes.

The quartet perform concerts and masterclasses all over the UK and abroad, and 2015 saw the first mainland European excursion for A4 Brass as they accepted the invitation to perform in the Trakai Fanfare Week in Lithuania. In February 2017, they toured the Channel Islands, performing in Jersey, Alderney and Guernsey and in the same month were selected for the highly respected Tillett Trust Young Artists’ Platform. A4 were also finalists in the 2017 Royal Over-Seas League Chamber Music Competition, receiving the Elias Fawcett Award for an Outstanding Ensemble. Previous performances include a Park Lane Group concert at St Margaret’s Church, Westminster Abbey and Lake District Summer Music International Festival; while upcoming engagements will see A4 Brass perform at Wigmore Hall and Bridgewater Hall amongst various concert series across the country. The quartet has also featured on national television and radio, most recently for ITV’s 2016 Christmas Carol concert. In addition, the quartet released their début CD featuring new, original music composed specifically for the ensemble. Released at the RNCM Brass Band Festival in January 2016, the CD features the composers Martin Ellerby, Edward Gregson, Oliver Waespi and Nigel Clarke, to name a few. A4 Brass Quartet are kindly sponsored by Chalker’s Fresh Produce.