fbpx Skip to page content

Start of page content

Bach Masterpieces by Candlelight

Friday 07 October 2022

7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

The Feinstein Ensemble presents a series of three concerts, each featuring one of Bach’s great solo cantatas. Each programme will juxtapose these masterpieces with sparkling concertos and contrasting vocal works by Bach and other composers.

Vergnügte Ruh showcases the extraordinary alto voice of Martha McLorinan, here accompanied by strings and a sublime obligato oboe d’amore. Also on the programme are Bach’s magnificent triple concerto in A minor and Telemann’s thrillingly virtuosic double concerto for recorder and viola da gamba.

The Feinstein Ensemble

Specialising in the historically accurate performance of music from the 18th century, the Feinstein Ensemble’s concerts and recordings of the Baroque repertoire have been acclaimed both in the UK and internationally. As one of the busiest period ensembles in Europe, they have toured in the Far East, Germany, France, the Gulf, Egypt, Israel, Belgium and Holland. They perform regularly at St Martin-in-the-Fields in London, performing around 30 concerts a year there and Southbank Centre. Their Bach Weekend at Kings Place has become one of the highlights of London’s musical calendar.

The Feinstein Ensemble is best known for its interpretations of Bach. Collaborations with their sister group the London Bach Singers have resulted in critically acclaimed performances of all of Bach’s major choral works, including the Mass in B Minor, the St John and St Matthew Passions, the Magnificat and the Easter Oratorio. The Ensemble can be heard regularly on BBC Radio 3 and in 2009 they were invited by BBC Television to broadcast a groundbreaking documentary and performance of all six Brandenburg Concerti. Their recordings for Naxos, Black Box Music, Sanctuary Records, Dutton Epoch records and Barn Cottage Records have been universally praised by the critics.

“I’ve heard the Brandenburg Concertos so many times, and in so many contexts. Yet what the Feinstein Ensemble did with them had revelatory freshness.”  The Independent

“Consummate musicianship” Gramophone

“Beyond praise” Fanfare (USA)

“Blinding clarity” The Guardian


Bach – Triple Concerto in A minor for flute, violin and Harpsichord and strings BWV 1044 
Bach – Cantata No 170 “Vergnügte Ruh”
Bach – “Ich will auch mit gebrochnen Augen” BWV 125
Telemann – Double concerto for recorder and viola da gamba in A minor


The Feinstein Ensemble
Martha McLorinan
Catherine Manson Solo Violin
Christopher Suckling Solo Viola da Gamba
Robin Bigwood Solo Harpsichord
Martin Feinstein Director/Flute/Recorder


Dates, Times & Book

Fri 07 Oct 7:30 PM £29/£25/£18/£13/£9 Book

Other things to do