fbpx Skip to page content

Start of page content

Bach Masterpieces by Candlelight

Friday 18 November 2022

7:30 PM

The Feinstein Ensemble presents a series of three concerts, each featuring one of Bach’s great solo cantatas. The programmes will juxtapose these masterpieces with sparkling concertos and contrasting vocal works by Bach and other composers.

Non sa che sia dolore is known as the Italian Cantata and is one of only two cantatas that Bach wrote in that language. Here the soprano is required to adopt an operatic role, accompanied by virtuoso obligato flute and string orchestra. Also on the programme are two of Bach’s most popular Brandenburg Concertos.

The Feinstein Ensemble

Specialising in the historically accurate performance of music from the 18th century, the Feinstein Ensemble’s concerts and recordings of the Baroque repertoire have been acclaimed both in the UK and internationally. As one of the busiest period ensembles in Europe, they have toured in the Far East, Germany, France, the Gulf, Egypt, Israel, Belgium and Holland. They perform regularly at St Martin-in-the-Fields in London, performing around 30 concerts a year there and Southbank Centre. Their Bach Weekend at Kings Place has become one of the highlights of London’s musical calendar.

The Feinstein Ensemble is best known for its interpretations of Bach. Collaborations with their sister group the London Bach Singers have resulted in critically acclaimed performances of all of Bach’s major choral works, including the Mass in B Minor, the St John and St Matthew Passions, the Magnificat and the Easter Oratorio. The Ensemble can be heard regularly on BBC Radio 3 and in 2009 they were invited by BBC Television to broadcast a groundbreaking documentary and performance of all six Brandenburg Concerti. Their recordings for Naxos, Black Box Music, Sanctuary Records, Dutton Epoch records and Barn Cottage Records have been universally praised by the critics.

“I’ve heard the Brandenburg Concertos so many times, and in so many contexts. Yet what the Feinstein Ensemble did with them had revelatory freshness.”  The Independent

“Consummate musicianship” Gramophone

“Beyond praise” Fanfare (USA)

“Blinding clarity” The Guardian


Bach – Brandenburg Concerto 5 BWV 1050 
Bach – Cantata No 209 “Non sa che sia dolore”
Telemann – “Du bist verflucht”
Bach – Brandenburg Concerto 4 BWV 1049


The Feinstein Ensemble
Faye Newton Soprano
Catherine Manson Solo Violin
Robin Bigwood Solo Harpsichord
Martina Feinstein Director/Flute/Recorder


Dates, Times & Book

Fri 18 Nov 7:30 PM £29/£25/£18/£13/£9 Book

Other things to do