fbpx Skip to page content

Start of page content

Bach Masterpieces by Candlelight

Thursday 08 September 2022

7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

The Feinstein Ensemble presents a series of three concerts, each featuring one of Bach’s great solo cantatas. The programmes will juxtapose these masterpieces with sparkling concertos and contrasting vocal works by Bach and other composers.

Ich habe genug is perhaps the most famous of all Bach’s cantatas: a beautiful exploration of the beauty of life and death. Alongside it, two of Bach’s most beloved concertos: the violin concerto in A minor and the double concerto for oboe and violin.

The Feinstein Ensemble

Specialising in the historically accurate performance of music from the 18th century, the Feinstein Ensemble’s concerts and recordings of the Baroque repertoire have been acclaimed both in the UK and internationally. As one of the busiest period ensembles in Europe, they have toured in the Far East, Germany, France, the Gulf, Egypt, Israel, Belgium and Holland. They perform regularly at St Martin-in-the-Fields in London, performing around 30 concerts a year there and Southbank Centre. Their Bach Weekend at Kings Place has become one of the highlights of London’s musical calendar.

The Feinstein Ensemble is best known for its interpretations of Bach. Collaborations with their sister group the London Bach Singers have resulted in critically acclaimed performances of all of Bach’s major choral works, including the Mass in B Minor, the St John and St Matthew Passions, the Magnificat and the Easter Oratorio. The Ensemble can be heard regularly on BBC Radio 3 and in 2009 they were invited by BBC Television to broadcast a groundbreaking documentary and performance of all six Brandenburg Concerti. Their recordings for Naxos, Black Box Music, Sanctuary Records, Dutton Epoch records and Barn Cottage Records have been universally praised by the critics.

“I’ve heard the Brandenburg Concertos so many times, and in so many contexts. Yet what the Feinstein Ensemble did with them had revelatory freshness.”  The Independent

“Consummate musicianship” Gramophone

“Beyond praise” Fanfare (USA)

“Blinding clarity” The Guardian


Bach – Violin Concerto in A minor BWV 1041 
Bach – Cantata No 82 “Ich habe genug”
Bach – “Starkes Lieben BWV 182
Bach – Oboe and Violin Concerto BWV 1060 


The Feinstein Ensemble
Ben Davies
Katharina Spreckelsen Solo Oboe
Catherine Manson Solo Violin

Dates, Times & Book

Thu 08 Sep 7:30 PM £29/£25/£18/£13/£9 Book

Other things to do