fbpx Skip to page content

Start of page content

Rachel Podger: The Guardian Angel (online)

Available until Wednesday 23 June

Celebrated as “the unsurpassed British glory of the baroque violin”, Rachel Podger presents a captivating programme of music for unaccompanied solo violin. With her trademark meticulous and masterful interpretations, Podger explores works by J.S Bach and Giuseppe Tartini alongside the hauntingly beautiful Guardian Angel’ Passacaglia from Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber’s Mystery Sonatas, the earliest known piece for solo violin.


J.S Bach – Suite for Cello No 2 in D minor BWV 1008 (transposed into A minor for violin)
Giuseppe Tartini – Sonata for Violin in B Minor
Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber – Passacaglia in G minor for solo violin from the Mystery Sonatas ‘The Guardian Angel’
J.S Bach – Partita in G minor (trans. Rachel Podger from Flute Partita in A minor BWV 1013)


Rachel Podger Baroque Violin

This concert is also available to attend in-person on Friday 21 May. For tickets, click here.

How to watch the online concert

You can watch the performance from 7.30pm on Monday 24 May and it will be available to watch as many times as you like for the following 30 days. You will receive your access details as soon as you have purchased your ticket, along with full details of how to watch the concert.

Our thanks to The National Lottery Heritage Fund, for supporting the ReSound concert series at St Martin-in-the-Fields.

St Martin-in-the-Fields church and all performers are closely following government guidance and each concert will adhere accordingly to the latest advice.

Dates, Times & Book

Mon 24 May 7:30 PM £10 Book

Other things to do