Skip to page content

Start of page content

The London Sylvan Ensemble

Saturday 04 May 2019

7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Please note that this concert is off-site, taking place at St James Piccadilly.


Gounod – Petitite Symphonie
Lawrence Axelrod – Evolutions (Premiere)
Wagner – Siegfried Idyll
Francaix – 9 Pieces Characteristiques
Robert Mathew Walker – Sinfonietta Urbana (Premiere)
Ibert – Concertino da camera

Sarah Markham Alto Saxophone

The London Sylvan Ensemble

Tom Higgins Conductor


The London Sylvan Ensemble is a vibrant and dynamic group that started when founder member, Jay Bevan was at Trinity college of Music. Over the last 11 years the group has increased in number and now performs a wide variety of chamber music from quintets to larger scale works.

Under the baton of conductor Tom Higgins, who took over the musical reins in 2015, the ensemble has gone from strength to strength.

The London Sylvan Ensemble regularly commissions new works. For this concert we are pleased to have two new works on the programme. One is from the acclaimed American composer Lawrence Axelrod; the other is from the home-grown talent of Robert Mathew Walker.

We are delighted to welcome guest artist Sarah Markham, who will be performing the stunning Ibert piece, Concertino da Camera on alto saxophone.


Dates, Times & Book

Sat 04 May 7:30 PM £15/£10 concessions Book

Other things to do