Latest News

An Update from St Martin’s

Wednesday 18 March 2020

Just a week ago life seemed more or less normal. Now it feels like the whole world is closing down, and no one knows when it will open up again.

Read More about An Update from St Martin’s

Tell me it isn’t true

Wednesday 26 February 2020

In the wake of troubling news about the founder of L’Arche, Jean Vanier, who received the Templeton Prize at St Martin’s in 2015, Revd Dr Sam Wells has issued this statement.

Read More about Tell me it isn’t true

A Prayer for the General Election

Tuesday 10 December 2019

God of grace and truth,
in Jesus you embody your choice of us.

Read More about A Prayer for the General Election

Latest Parish Notices

Sunday 31 May, Pentecost

Friday 29 May 2020

Parish Notices for Sunday 31 May

Read More about Sunday 31 May, Pentecost

Sunday 24 May, The Seventh Sunday of Easter, Sunday after Ascension Day

Friday 22 May 2020

Parish Notices for Sunday 24 May

Read More about Sunday 24 May, The Seventh Sunday of Easter, Sunday after Ascension Day

Sunday 17 May, The Sixth Sunday of Easter

Friday 15 May 2020

Parish Notices for Sunday 17 May

Read More about Sunday 17 May, The Sixth Sunday of Easter

Latest Podcasts

The Fiery Ordeal

Tuesday 26 May 2020

Duration: 16:17
Recorded on: 24.05.2020
File Size: 23MB

Listen Now about The Fiery Ordeal

Controversy, conversation and community

Tuesday 19 May 2020

Duration: 12:03
Recorded on: 17.05.2020
File Size: 17MB

Listen Now about Controversy, conversation and community

Essential Journey

Tuesday 28 April 2020

Duration: 13:30
Recorded on: 26.04.2020
File Size: 15.82MB

Listen Now about Essential Journey

Latest Sermons

The Fiery Ordeal

Thursday 28 May 2020

A Sermon preached at St Martin-in-the-Fields on 24 May 2020. the Seventh Sunday of Easter, by the Revd Dr Sam Wells.

Read More about The Fiery Ordeal

Controversy, conversation and community

Tuesday 19 May 2020

The closest I have come to my 15 minutes of fame or infamy was when I attracted the criticism of Archbishop Cranmer – the contemporary blogger, not the 16th century Reformer – by exhibiting a crucified stormtrooper in a church as part of a contemporary exhibition of Stations of the Cross.

Read More about Controversy, conversation and community

Only Believe

Sunday 10 May 2020

A Sermon preached at St Martin-in-the-Fields on 10 May 2020 by the Revd Sally Richard Carter.
Reading for this address: John 14. 1-14.

Read More about Only Believe

Latest Thought for the Week

It was the best of times. It was the worst of times…

Friday 29 May 2020

It was the best of times. It was the worst of times. Those words, with which Charles Dickens begins A Tale of Two Cities, sum up our experience of the last ten weeks at St Martin-in-the-Fields.

Read More about It was the best of times. It was the worst of times…

Dear Friends

Friday 22 May 2020

A painting by the Polish Jesuit philosopher and artist Vyacheslav Okun depicts Jesus in the emergency room, as a person suffering from the virus.

Read More about Dear Friends

Interrupting the Silence

Friday 15 May 2020

Lockdown has its challenges. One of mine has been teaching my grandson, aged 12, to solve ever more complex simultaneous equations over Whatsapp.

Read More about Interrupting the Silence

Latest Uncategorised

Sunday 26 January The Third Sunday of Epiphany/Chinese New Year/Homelessness Sunday

Friday 24 January 2020

The Third Sunday of Epiphany/Chinese New Year/Homelessness Sunday Parish News/Diary/Special Notices

Read More about Sunday 26 January The Third Sunday of Epiphany/Chinese New Year/Homelessness Sunday

Sunday 17 November, The Second Sunday before Advent

Friday 15 November 2019
Read More about Sunday 17 November, The Second Sunday before Advent

Sunday 3 November, All Saints and All Souls

Friday 1 November 2019

Parish notices for Sunday 3 November

Read More about Sunday 3 November, All Saints and All Souls